A personal life disaster created a work disaster. What’s your comeback plan?

What's the comeback plan for when a personal disaster creates a work disaster?

Q: Two days after I started a new job, my husband left me and I fell apart. I arrived late at work, cried during the work day and took personal phone calls from both my kids. I took my emotional upset out on others. In other words, I was a hot mess.

I’ve since pulled myself together, but not in time. This morning I was given a written reprimand and told that if I repeat any of my problem behaviors, I’ll be fired immediately. Here’s what I need to know. Should I just resign and find a new job, where I don’t have this history?

A: You can, and that might be your best alternative. You’d have a fresh start with a new employer. Alternately, you can seize the opportunity your employer gave you. Here’s what you need to consider.

One, your employer didn’t fire you. In other words, you work for an employer who gives employees the benefit of the doubt or at least a second chance. That says a lot about your employer.

Two, you wanted this job. That means you assessed it, and while you could have waited for another job offer, something about this position and employer drew you. Do you want to start at ground zero again?

Three, we make a new history every day. While many say we have only one chance to make a first impression, if you immediately and consistently treat your coworkers and job with professionalism, you can create a fresh start where you are.

 

© Dr. Lynne Curry is author of “Beating the Workplace Bully” and “Solutions” as well as Regional Director of Training and Business Consulting for The Growth Company, an Avitus Group Company. Follow her on Twitter @lynnecury10 or at http://www.bullywhisperer.com.

Leave a comment