Lonely Watchdog

Question:

As head of accounting, I’m the office watchdog and expected to enforce my boss’ quirky policies, even the ones I don’t agree with. He doesn’t, however, back me up when the employees get angry with the policies. Instead, he says, “Accountants are like that,” as if I create policies for my own enjoyment. I’ve told my boss I resent this but he says enforcing policies goes with the job. Am I missing something?

Answer:

While some flak goes with the territory for those in “watchdog” positions, your boss can’t ask you to take the fall for unpopular policies and not back you. In the same way that your job entails enforcement, his position demands leadership.

© Dr. Lynne Curry is author of ”Beating the Workplace Bully” and ”Solutions” as well as owner of the management/HR consulting/training firm The Growth Company Inc. Follow her on Twitter @lynnecury10 or at www.bullywhisperer.com.

Leave a Reply

