Has your boss asked you to lie?

Question:

When I got hired at my company, the human resources department interviewed me and sent me into my now boss’ office for a “final interview.” He asked only one question, if I knew how to “run interference” for my supervisor. I answered, “Absolutely, I’m the mom of a football player, and know what blocking and tackling mean.” I thought he meant holding calls when he didn’t want to be interrupted and handling other problems so he could concentrate on more important matters.

Two weeks into my job, my boss asked me to tell his wife he was “out of town” if she called the office. When I said, “I didn’t know you’d be traveling,” he said, “I’m not, but that’s what I want you to say.”

I’ve never lied for a boss. What do I do?

Answer:

If you don’t want to lie and his wife calls, you can say, “My boss said to tell you he was out of town.” If his wife questions you further, you can say, “I’m sorry, this is what I was told to tell you and he is my boss.”

Meanwhile, document this interaction, visit HR and look for a new job. When a supervisor asks an employee to lie, he abuses his position and that’s a problem your company needs to handle. You, however, may be better off out of there.

© Dr. Lynne Curry is author of ”Beating the Workplace Bully” and ”Solutions” as well as owner of the management/HR consulting/training firm The Growth Company Inc. Follow her on Twitter @lynnecury10 or at www.bullywhisperer.com.

Leave a Reply

