Upset about being passed over for a promotion? Here’s how to react

Question:

When my immediate supervisor was promoted to run another division, I thought upper management would move me into his spot. They didn’t. Instead, they hired someone from outside our company and then asked me to “show him the ropes.”

This was so insulting, I couldn’t speak. Now that I know what they think of me, I’m just doing the minimum and applying for every job I can find on Craigslist. What do I say when I’m asked, “Why are you leaving your current job?”

Answer:

While it’s often time to leave when you’re passed over, you can’t afford to come across as disgruntled when you’re applying for other jobs. Simply say, “I’ve gone as far as I can in my current organization, and I’m really excited by the challenges I’d be able to handle for your company.” If you’ve researched this new position and company, you can then move into specifics.

Meanwhile, get better, not bitter. Ask the managers who didn’t give you the promotion for an assessment of your strengths and weaknesses. Further, continue demonstrating your value to your employer, as you’ll need good references to land a great job. When passed over, many employees make the mistake of taking the first job they can find, to get out of their current workplace. Don’t make that mistake; take your time, so you’ll solidly move your career forward.

©Dr. Lynne Curry is author of ”Beating the Workplace Bully” and ”Solutions” as well as owner of the management/HR consulting/training firm The Growth Company Inc. Follow her on Twitter @lynnecury10 or at http://www.bullywhisperer.com.

 

Leave a Reply

